DescriptionFirst known as Fish Town, Beaufort (BO-fort) was established in the early 1700s. This seacoast town has a picturesque historic district with narrow streets and old houses.
In the Old Burying Ground, deeded to the town in 1731, the earliest legible marker date is 1756. The graveyard was declared full in 1825, yet townspeople continued to use it until the early 1900s. Graves face east in the oldest portion so that the occupants would face the sun on “Judgment Morn.” Among those buried here is an English sailor interred upright so he could salute the king.
Visitor InfoBeaufort Historical Association Welcome Center 130 Turner St. BEAUFORT, NC 28516. Phone:(252)728-5225 or (800)575-7483
Things to SeeBeaufort Historic Site