DescriptionSince its 19th-century halcyon days as a shipbuilding, seafaring and lumbering town, Blue Hill has become a popular summer vacation and crafts center. It is especially noted for wheel-thrown pottery, some of which is produced from local clays. Rackliffe Pottery on Ellsworth Road, phone (207) 374-2297 or (888) 631-3321, welcomes visitors. A number of art galleries are in the area.
Craftsmanship is not new; in the early 1800s, Parson Jonathan Fisher designed and built his own house, made the paint that adorned it and created most of its furniture, paintings and woodcuts. Having invented machines to saw wood, split straws and dig stones, he then built a windmill to power them. The life of this unusual man was chronicled by Mary Ellen Chase, a novelist born in Blue Hill in 1887. The Jonathan Fisher House still stands on SR 15 at 44 Mines Rd.; phone (207) 374-2459.
The village is the namesake of a 934-foot hill that overlooks the town, situated at the head of Blue Hill Bay. The hill's blue appearance from a distance no doubt inspired the name. From its summit the view extends eastward to Mount Desert Island and Acadia National Park and westward to Camden Hills State Park.
An extensive and eclectic collection of sheet music is housed in Blue Hill's Bagaduce Music Lending Library. Organized according to the instrument for which each piece was written, the library's more than 250,000 scores include many rare items that might be difficult to find anywhere else; phone (207) 374-5454. Throughout the summer the Kneisel Hall Chamber Music Festival's concerts and recitals showcase the talents of young performers; phone (207) 374-2203.