DescriptionWooded Camano Island, named for late 18th-century Spanish explorer Jacinto Camaño, is just 17 miles long and tapers from a width of about 7 miles at the north end to a mile-wide southern point. SR 532 bridges the narrow saltwater channel west of Stanwood that separates the island from the mainland. A network of paved roads crisscrosses the island, providing access to Cama Beach Historical State Park, Camano Island State Park and half a dozen county parks.
Utsalady, 1 mile off SR 532 on the island's north shore, is its most historic community. The first European settlers arrived here in 1853, and by the 1870s the town was a busy log exporting and shipbuilding center and the prime port for nearby mainland settlements. Dotted with summer cabins and second homes, Camano today is largely residential and remains decidedly—and delightfully—rural.
Camano Island's tranquility has long attracted artists, including many who have taken up permanent residence. Among the members of the Camano Island Arts Association is Dale Chihuly's famous Pilchuk Glass School. The Camano Island Studio Tour, which takes place Mother's Day weekend and the weekend following, allows visitors to experience the area's scenic beauty while visiting artist studios and attending a juried art show; phone (425) 263-2813.
Visitor InfoCamano Island Chamber of Commerce 848 N. Sunrise Blvd. CAMANO ISLAND, WA 98282. Phone:(360)629-7136
Things to SeeCama Beach Historical State Park
ZiplinesCanopy Tours Northwest