DescriptionThanks to the water power provided by Cedar Creek and an abundant supply of limestone, Cedarburg had become a busy milling, textile, quarrying and industrial center by the 1850s. Now designated a historic district, Hamilton includes the 1853 Concordia Mill and several other historic stone buildings.
The 1855 Cedarburg Mill, used as a refuge for families during the Great Indian Scare of 1862, still stands near the Columbia Road bridge over Cedar Creek.
One of the last two surviving covered bridges in the state crosses Cedar Creek about 3 miles north via CR NN and Covered Bridge Road; it was built in 1876. The other, built in 1970, spans the Crystal River in Waupaca. The Cedarburg Cultural Center at W62 N546 Washington Ave. features four galleries with changing art and history exhibits and serves as a venue for special events and musical performances; phone (262) 375-3676.
Lime Kiln Park, on Green Bay Road in nearby Grafton, features restored lime kiln chimneys and a picturesque dam. The 28-acre park, on the Milwaukee River, offers a picnic area, canoe launch, nine-hole disc-golf course, archery range and volleyball courts; phone (262) 375-5310.
Visitor InfoCedarburg Chamber of Commerce W61 N480 Washington Ave. CEDARBURG, WI 53012. Phone:(262)377-9620 or (888)894-4001
ShoppingHidden treasures can be found in the numerous shops and galleries lining Washington Avenue in the historic district. Cedar Creek Settlement, downtown at N70 W6340 Bridge Rd., houses nearly 30 retail establishments in the restored 1864 Wittenberg Woolen Mill; phone (262) 377-4763 or (866) 377-4788.
Self-guiding toursSeveral brochures outlining a walking tour and describing Cedarburg's historic district and architecture are available from the visitor center on the corner of Washington Avenue and Spring Street.
Things to SeeCedarburg Art Museum