DescriptionCorning, on a plateau divided by the Chemung River, traces its economic origins to the manufacture of glass. After the completion of the Chemung Canal in 1833, Erastus Corning of Albany bought real estate in the area and built a railroad from Pennsylvania to the canal. In 1868 the Flint Glass Co. of Brooklyn relocated to Corning and reorganized, selling two-fifths of the company to local residents. Home to The Corning Museum of Glass , Corning is recognized as one of the world's glass centers.
Historic Market Street, the main commercial district, has been restored to its late 19th-century appearance and features tree-lined brick sidewalks, shops and restaurants. Visitors can watch glass making in progress at several galleries along Market Street. A shuttle bus provides transportation from Market Street to The Corning Museum of Glass and The Rockwell Museum .
The Spencer Crest Nature Center, off Powderhouse Rd. at 2424 Spencer Hill Rd., is situated on 250 acres of rolling wooded grounds and includes 7 miles of nature trails and interpretative displays. Opportunities for hiking, fishing, picnicking, cross-country skiing and snowshoeing are available; phone (607) 962-9012.
Visitor InfoSteuben County Conference & Visitors Bureau 1 W. Market St. CORNING, NY 14830. Phone:(607)936-6544 or (866)946-3386
Things to SeeThe Corning Museum of Glass