DescriptionOff SR 26 at 100 N. James St. in Rome, Fort Stanwix was built during the French and Indian War. In 1776, at the outbreak of the Revolution, the fort was repaired and restored by American rebels. Attacked by a force of British, Tories and Native Americans in 1777, it withstood a 3-week siege. The fort contains exhibits. Costumed interpreters re-enact 18th-century life in a military outpost. Museum open daily 9-5, Apr.-Dec.; Wed.-Sun. 9-5, rest of year. Fortress open daily 9:15-4:45. Closed Jan. 1, Thanksgiving and Christmas. Free. Phone (315) 338-7730.
GEM DescriptionBuilt in 1758, the original fort protected the Mohawk Valley during the French and Indian and Revolutionary wars; its reconstruction contains archeological exhibits and living-history demonstrations.