DescriptionHavre de Grace rose to prosperity as a mercantile center in the mid-1800s, due in large part to the town's location at the convergence of the Susquehanna River and the Chesapeake Bay. By 1836 a railroad, canal and steamship line served the city. From 1839 to the early 1900s mule-drawn barges carried coal, lumber, grains, ore and iron products between Havre de Grace and Wrightsville, Pa., 45 miles upstream.
Few buildings survived the British torch in the War of 1812. Many examples of the architectural styles favored by wealthy 19th-century merchants have been retained, however, and now serve as offices and homes. The old lock house (in use 1840-1900) beside the defunct Susquehanna and Tidewater Canal has been restored and is now The Susquehanna Museum of Havre de Grace at the Lock House. Visitors can see period rooms and a working lock model. The museum is open Fri.-Sun. 1-5, Apr.-Oct.; phone (410) 939-5780.
The Concord Point Lighthouse is among the oldest lighthouses in continuous operation on the East Coast and can be viewed from the half-mile Promenade.
Visitor InfoHavre de Grace Office of Tourism & Visitor Center 450 Pennington Ave. HAVRE DE GRACE, MD 21078. Phone:(410)939-2100 or (800)851-7756
Self-guiding toursMaps and literature for a walking tour of the historic district are available at Havre de Grace Office of Tourism & Visitor Center.
Things to SeeHavre de Grace Decoy Museum