DescriptionMcGregor originated as MacGregor's Landing when Alexander MacGregor established a ferry line to cross the Mississippi River from Prairie du Chien, Wis., to the town. The town saw the forerunner to the Ringling Brothers Circus when the five Ringling brothers, as children, held penny circuses in their backyard.
Within a 15-mile radius are more than 200 effigy mounds, fortifications and earthworks, now preserved as Effigy Mounds National Monument. Nestled along the banks of the Mississippi and surrounded by bluffs, McGregor offers hiking, snowmobiling, cross-country skiing and river activities.
Visitor InfoMcGregor-Marquette Chamber of Commerce 146 Main St. MCGREGOR, IA 52157. Phone:(563)873-2186 or (800)896-0910
Things to SeeFroelich Museum & 1890's Village