AAA Travel Guides
Current Search Destination:Medicine Bow National Forest, Wyoming
Travel Information for major cities, national parks and other destinations across North America, Mexico and the Caribbean.

In southeastern Wyoming, Medicine Bow-Routt National Forest consists of three separate districts that together cover 1,093,618 acres. Scenic SR 130 (closed in winter) crosses the Laramie and Brush Creek/Hayden districts, which extend northward from Colorado along the Snowy Range.
The Brush Creek/Hayden District spans the Continental Divide in the Sierra Madre Mountains west of Encampment. Douglas District, the northernmost section, is high in the rugged Laramie Mountains south of Douglas. Between Cheyenne and Laramie I-80 crosses the Pole Mountain Unit, noted for its unusual rock formations.
The Thunder Basin National Grassland lies in the energy-rich Powder River Basin north of Douglas. There also are four wilderness areas with 79,135 acres of forested land west of Laramie.
Opportunities for such winter sports as cross-country skiing and snowmobiling abound in the area. Camping, fishing, hiking and hunting also are available. For additional information contact the Forest Supervisor, 2468 Jackson St., Laramie, WY 82070. Phone (307) 745-2300.
Click to View Map
Top Hotels
Current Location: Medicine Bow National Forest, Wyoming