Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton

AAA Inspector Rating
8.7
Wonderful
83 Guest Ratings
34631 N Tom Darlington Dr
Carefree, AZ 85377- Map It
Members save 5% or more and earn HHonors™ points when booking AAA rates!
Photos
X
AAA Inspector Notes
Nestled in the Sonora Desert, this distinctive resort with its oversized casita rooms uses the natural topography of dramatic boulders in its design. Smoke free premises. 220 units, some houses. 1-2 stories (no elevator), exterior corridors. Accessibility (Call).

Amenities & Services

WiFi
Swimming Pool
Pets Allowed
Fitness Center
ECO Friendly
Electric Charging
Accessible
Business Center
Type
Resort Hotel
Location
Jct Scottsdale and Bell rds, 11 mi n. 34631 N Tom Darlington Dr 85377 (PO Box 2090).
AAA Benefit
Members save 5% or more and earn HHonors™ points when booking AAA rates!
Pool
heated outdoor.
Parking
on-site and valet.
Dining & Entertainment
6 restaurants, full bar.
Business Services
Available on premises
Room Amenities
refrigerators, coffeemakers, wireless Internet (fee), safes. Some: microwaves.
Sports & Recreation
sauna, hot tub, steamroom, regulation golf, tennis, recreation programs, bicycles, trails, health club, spa.
Guest Services
valet laundry, airport transportation, room service, area transportation-within resort.
Terms
N, check-in 4 pm, pets (extra charge).

Guest Ratings

OVERALL GUEST SCORE
Wonderful
Based on Ratings from 83 guests
Showing reviews 1 - 5 of 50
10.0
Garrett
Exceptional
young couple
09-19-2016
Pros: Staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming. Anytime my girlfriend and I had a question, they were knowledgeable and kind. Valets were enormously kind and welcoming. Would visit again.
Cons:
10.0
Kathryn
Exceptional
young couple
09-04-2016
Pros: Everything. Casitas are beautiful set in tranquil landscape giving a really peaceful, romantic ambience. Facilities were great - gym, tennis courts, golf courses, practise area all first class and some nice running/walking routes if you want to explore the property. Staff very friendly.
Cons: We were there for 10 days and as we're not too keen on Mexican food, we started to find the bar/restaurant menu a bit limited. However, The Grill was closed during our stay so once that opens there'll be more variety.
4.6
John
Disappointing
solo traveller
09-03-2016
Pros: The bell hop guys are extremely friendly and professional… They were the only friendly faces that we seen following the scorpion outbreak.
Cons: Regrettably there were 4 guests on the night that we arrived who incurred a Bark Scorpion in their beds, which resulted in several injuries. We were one of these couples: my husband and I were asleep in our Casida and I woke to tremendous pain in my legs (where the scorpion was stinging me) as my husband turned to assist me it then stung him twice on his abdomen. The other couple were in an adjacent casida they too received awful injuries from the scorpions inhabiting their casida. The response from Columbia Sussex (risk management company who purchased The Boulders Resort) was inadequate and unsympathetic, they informed us that the scorpions can gain access to the casidas!!!! When you stay in a 5 star resort you don't expect this; the rooms must be habitable and without any due warning we were not informed of this. Alas if we were to stay in a camping ground, tents, cabins then you expect to share your environment with critters but not a 5 star resort. The response to us was harsh and brassy by their management company; it affected the next 3 days of our vacation and alas we were left with discomfort and malaise from the scorpion's stings. There is an issue when 4 guests who arrive at the same time are stung by scorpions in their bed… Their management company begs to differ???!!!
4.6
Lee
Disappointing
young couple
09-03-2016
Pros: The pool was nice. The golf course looked good. The wildlife was great.
Cons: No parking near your room. The walls were so thin it sounded like the couple next door was in our room. The resort fees and tax are about 30-40% more than the price originally quoted.
9.6
Shauna
Exceptional
review category group of friends
09-02-2016
Pros: The property was beautiful. Food delicious.
Cons: Checked into a room that was occupied. No do not disturb sign-housekeeping kept knocking when I was resting. Kids noisy/jumping off bed in room above me. Spa totally booked so unable to get any treatments.
Showing reviews 1 - 5 of 50