AAA Editor Notes
Black Diamond Mines Regional Preserve is 2.5 mi. s. off SR 4 Somersville Rd. exit. The preserve's 6,286 acres are a haven for hikers, picnickers and those who enjoy nature and a chance to explore the region's mining past. Five coal mining towns prospered here in the late 1800s; in the 1920s underground mining for sand replaced coal mining. A cemetery is virtually all that remains of those communities.

The Greathouse Visitor Center, in a 1920s underground chamber, was the original opening into the sand mine. It now has exhibits about the sand mine and the lives of the coal miners and brochures about the park's facilities and hiking trails. A tour through the Hazel-Atlas Mine lets participants see how the sand was mined to make glass objects. The preserve has 65 miles of trails through grasslands, woodlands and forests.

Pet friendly (call for restrictions/fees.). Recreational activities are permitted. Camping is permitted. Picnicking is permitted.

Amenities & Services
Swimming Pool
Pet Friendly
Fitness Center
ECO Friendly
Electric Charging
Business Center
Parking Sat.-Sun. and holidays $5 per private vehicle (when kiosk is attended). Mine tours $5. Fee for dogs $2 (service dogs free). Under 7 are not permitted on mine tours.
Preserve open daily 8 a.m.-dusk. Sidney Flat Visitor Center Sat.-Sun. 10-4:30, early Mar.-late Nov. Greathouse Visitor Center open Sat.-Sun. 10-4:30, early Mar.-late Nov. Ninety-minute mine tours (reservations required) depart Sat.-Sun. at 11 and 2, Apr.-Nov. Tours on a first-come, first-served basis are given Sat.-Sun. at noon and 3, Mar.-Nov. (arrive at least an hour early to ensure a place on the tour). Closed Thanksgiving and Christmas. Phone ahead to confirm schedule. Allow 2 hours minimum.
Get Directions
Hotel Name
1234 Street Address City, State 00000
AAA Inspector Rating
More Hotels in Antioch, CA
AAA Inspector Rating
More Restaurants in Antioch, CA