Wrigley Field, 1060 W. Addison St., is the second oldest Major League Baseball stadium in operation and one of the smallest, seating just over 40,000 spectators. Built in 1914 as Weeghman Park, the site was later renamed for chewing gum manufacturer and Cubs owner William Wrigley Jr.
Wrigley's infamously tight quarters earned it the nickname “the Friendly Confines,” a term popularized by “Mr. Cub,” Ernie Banks. The first Cubs player to have his number retired, Banks is honored by a statue outside the entrance at Clark and Addison streets. Also commemorated in bronze are legendary baseball announcer Harry Caray; “Iron Man” outfielder Billy Williams; and nine-time All-Star Ron Santo. Ivy-covered outfield walls, a manually operated scoreboard and an iconic red marquee are among the ballpark's most notable features.
The tour takes guests through the entire stadium, from the dugouts and locker rooms to the press boxes high above the field. Professional guides give a full course of the field's history and its place in baseball.
The tour involves walking up and down stairs and ramps. Comfortable shoes should be worn.