AAA Editor Notes
Fabyan Forest Preserve is at 1925 S. Batavia Ave. The 208-acre preserve on the Fox River was originally part of a country estate purchased by Col. George and Nelle Fabyan in the early 1900s as a summer retreat. In 1907 they hired Frank Lloyd Wright to remodel and expand the property’s farmhouse, which they later named Riverbank. Today it’s known as the Fabyan Villa, and a museum inside displays the couple’s various collections including Asian objects, original furnishings and natural history specimens.
In addition to walking trails, picnic areas, pavilions, fountains and a bridge over the Fox River, the preserve features a Japanese Garden, a picturesque oasis with paths, ponds and a variety of trees and flowering plants. A 68-foot-tall Dutch windmill known as the Fabyan Windmill was originally built in the 1840s and moved to the estate around 1914. In addition to snapping photos of the windmill, which was featured on a U.S. postage stamp, visitors come to the preserve to boat, fish, jog, hike and bike. A sledding hill is popular in winter.
Demonstrations of the windmill are given.
Guided tours are available. Picnicking is permitted.