The 1950s All-Electric House

8788 Metcalf Ave.
Overland Park, KS 66212- Map It
(913) 715-2550

AAA Editor Notes

The 1950s All-Electric House is at 8788 Metcalf Ave. The house was built in 1954 by Kansas City Power and Light as a showcase of modern electric innovations. Pink laminate kitchen countertops, a remote-controlled coffee maker and push-button lights are featured. The bathroom has traditional lighting along with a germ-killing light and a tanning lamp. Note: The museum (formerly at 6305 Lackman Rd.) is scheduled to open at this new location in May 2017; phone ahead for updates. Guided tours are available. Time: Allow 30 minutes minimum.
$5; $4 (ages 65+); $3 (ages 5-12).
Hours: Guided tours depart every half-hour Mon.-Sat. 1-4:30. Last tour departs 30 minutes before closing. Closed major holidays.