Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory is downtown at 800 W. Main St. at the corner of 8th St. The first Louisville Slugger baseball bat was made by John “Bud” Hillerich in 1884. Appropriately enough, the entrance to the museum is distinguished by a 120-foot, 68,000-pound steel version of his creation. The bat, a scale model of Babe Ruth’s Louisville Slugger, rests against the wall of the famous implement’s manufacturing plant and headquarters.
Visitors can view collections of baseball memorabilia before moving on to the Hillerich & Bradsby Co. manufacturing facility to see bats being produced. A short film presentation, interactive exhibits and batting cages are available.
Time: Allow 1 hour, 30 minutes minimum.
Hours: Mon.-Sat. 9-6 (also Thurs.-Sat. 6-8 p.m.), Sun. 11-6, July 1 to mid-Aug.; Mon.-Sat. 9-5, Sun. 11-5, rest of year. Factory tours begin every 10 min. (guests should arrive no later than 1 hour before closing). Closed Thanksgiving and Christmas.