Madame John's Legacy is at 632 Dumaine St. Operated by the Louisiana State Museum, this restored 1789 Creole home is one of the few surviving examples of French Colonial residential architecture in the French Quarter. The two-story building features thick walls, broad galleries and shuttered windows.
The house name was inspired by a short story by New Orleans writer George Washington Cable. Visitors can admire the patio courtyards, interior architectural features and permanent exhibits about Newcomb College art pottery.
Note: The building is closed for renovations until further notice; phone ahead for updates.