AAA Editor Notes
Piney Point Lighthouse Museum & Park is .4 mi. n.w. on SR 249 (Piney Point Rd.), then 1.3 mi. s.w. to 44720 Lighthouse Rd. Visitors can climb the stairs of this lighthouse that operated 1836-1964. The museum chronicles the history of the lighthouse and keepers' quarters; the U-1105 German submarine sunk nearby; and the Piney Point area, once a summer destination for such notable Americans as presidents Franklin Pierce and Theodore Roosevelt. A maritime exhibit in a separate building showcases the fishing and oyster industry and includes four historic wooden vessels. Benches at a pier offer a panoramic view of the Potomac River. Boating is permitted; a kayak launch is available during museum hours.

Guided tours are available. Picnicking is permitted.

Admission
$7; $3.50 (ages 62+ and students and military with ID); free (ages 0-5).
Hours
Grounds daily dawn-dusk. Museum and lighthouse daily 10-5, Mar. 25-late Sept.; Wed.-Sun. noon-4, early Oct.-late Dec. Keepers' quarters open first Sat. of the month, Apr.-Oct. Phone for extended Dec. holiday hours. Closed Easter, Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve and Christmas. Phone ahead to confirm schedule. Allow 1 hour minimum.
Map
Get Directions
Hotel
Hotel Name
1234 Street Address City, State 00000
AAA Inspector Rating
More Hotels in Piney Point, MD
Restaurant
AAA Inspector Rating
More Restaurants in Piney Point, MD