AAA Editor Notes
Faneuil Hall is at 1 Faneuil Hall Square, just n.e. of jct. Congress and State sts. The 1742 building was given to the city by Peter Faneuil. It burned in 1761, was rebuilt in 1763 and was enlarged in 1806.
The upper story served as a meeting hall, the scene of many stirring gatherings during the Revolutionary movement. British officers used the building as a theater during their occupation of the city. On the fourth floor, portraits of past commanders, along with uniforms, firearms, swords and other artifacts, are on display in the Museum of the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company of Massachusetts; the hall has housed the company's headquarters since 1746.
A National Park Service visitor center occupies a portion of the first floor and is the starting point for ranger-led tours of both the Freedom Trail and the Black Heritage Trail. Wall-mounted iPads showcase NPS Boston, a free app offering self-guiding tour information, image galleries and more.
The Faneuil Hall Marketplace includes Faneuil Hall; North and South Markets; and Quincy Market, a renovated 19th-century complex containing more than 125 restaurants, stores and retail pushcarts. Outside, street performers ranging from jugglers to acoustic guitarists entertain crowds daily (weather permitting). The Regulars Changing of the Guard performance takes place spring through fall and includes meet-and-greet sessions with historical re-enactors.
Guided tours are available.