Old Victoria, 4 mi. s.w. on a paved road near the Victoria dam, is a partially restored late 19th-century company town. Mines opened 1847-49 and operated until 1921. Guided tours include a house tour of three log houses and a sauna. A single-cabin tour also is available. A ruins walk, offered by appointment only, explores the ruins of the mining town of Victoria. A fourth log house, now the visitor center, includes displays, pictures and books showcasing mining days.
Hiking trails are on the grounds.
Comfortable walking shoes are recommended.
Guided tours are available. Picnicking is permitted.