AAA Editor Notes
Two Harbors Light Station is at the s. end of Third St. at 1 Lighthouse Pt. One of the oldest operating lighthouses on Lake Superior, this red brick station was built in 1892 to protect ships carrying iron ore from Agate Bay. Visitors can climb the 47 steps to the top of the lighthouse for a view of the lake. The assistant lighthouse keeper's house contains historical artifacts, a shipwreck exhibit and period furnishings. On the grounds is a restored pilot's house from the sunken ore carrier Frontenac.
Time: Allow 30 minutes minimum.