Seneca Caverns is 3.5 mi. s. off SR 269, then 2 mi. w. on Township Rd. 178. This limestone cavern, often called “The Earth Crack,” was discovered in 1872 and has seven levels or rooms open to the public. At the lowest level, 110 feet, is Ole' Mist'ry River, part of the region's underground water system. Gem stone mining also is available. The cave temperature is 54 degrees Fahrenheit.
Note: Some bending and stooping are required to maneuver through low passages. A jacket and walking shoes are advised.
Guided tours are available. Picnicking is permitted.
Hours: One-hour guided tours depart daily every 20 minutes 9-7, Memorial Day weekend-Labor Day; Sat.-Sun. 10-5, May 1-day before Memorial Day weekend and day after Labor Day to mid-Oct. Last tour 1 hour before closing.