AAA Editor Notes
Franklin Museum, 187 N. Main St., is in a large 1900 brick building that was the final structure to house Franklin College. The small Presbyterian institution was founded in 1818 as Alma Academy and then called Alma School before the name was changed to Franklin College in 1826. An exhibit portrays founder Rev. John Walker's abolitionist views and the college's legacy of antislavery work.
Other exhibits showcase the Civil War, notable Franklin College graduates and local 19th- and early 20th-century history.