Lake County History Center, 415 Riverside Dr., is housed in an 1876 Italianate building that once served as the county's infirmary and poor house. The building now features exhibit galleries and a research library. Rotating exhibits include various objects from the 30,000-piece collection. A Civil War wing includes clothing and weapons as well as displays about medicine and the Underground Railroad. The superintendent's original private quarters showcase Victorian lifestyle through period furnishings and clothing, and a formal parlor includes a collection of “Magical Musical Machines,” 1900s music boxes.
Behind the center is the Living History Village; visitors can view the exteriors of an 1813 log cabin, a one-room school, a blacksmith shop and a general store.