AAA Editor Notes
Sainte-Marie Among the Hurons, 5 km (3 mi.) e. on Hwy. 12 opposite Martyrs' Shrine, is a 1.2-hectare (3-acre) re-creation of the French Jesuit mission to the Hurons that stood on the site 1639-49; it is reputed to have been the first European community in Ontario. The reconstruction followed extensive excavations and more than 200 years of archeological research.
Within the palisades are a Huron mission chapel, Ontario's first permanent Christian cemetery, Huron longhouses, an Algonquin wigwam, carpenter and blacksmith shops, a cookhouse, drying and storing racks for meat and fish, shelters and many other examples of 17th-century habitation.
The orientation center offers an audiovisual presentation. In July and August visitors can partake in daily activities and join a guided tour. Education tours are offered seasonally.
Pet friendly (call for restrictions/fees.). Picnicking is permitted. Food is available. Time: Allow 2 hours minimum.