AAA Editor Notes
History of Forest Fire Prevention Interpretation Centre (Centre d'interprétation de l'historique de la protection de la forêt contre le feu) is at 8 rue Comeau. A granite Second Empire-style edifice built in 1887 by Irish immigrant Charles Logue houses the interpretation center. Displays detail the history of forest fire protection and prevention efforts in Maniwaki, a region in which forestry is a major industry.
At a re-created forest fire command post, visitors learn about the tracking and assessment of forest fires as well as how such tactical resources as helicopters and other aircraft are mobilized. In addition visitors can climb a 24-metre-tall (80-ft.) reproduction forest fire observation tower. An on-site art gallery hosts traveling exhibitions. Narrated tours of a tugboat once used to transport timber along the Baskatong Reservoir, and now permanently in dry dock, can be arranged at the interpretation center.
Guided tours are available. Picnicking is permitted. Food is available.