AAA Editor Notes
John Rivers Communications Museum is on the College of Charleston campus at 58 George St. The museum, housed in four rooms in the 1803 Bernard Elliot House, contains antiques representing the history of communications and broadcasting, including magic lanterns (antique oil-burning slide projectors), motion picture projectors, phonographs, radios and televisions. Visitors can learn about telegraphs, listen to old radio programs and watch early cartoons. The museum houses an impressive collection of music in all formats.
The museum is named after John Rivers Sr., president of Charleston radio station WCSC, which later became a television station.
Note: The museum is closed for renovations with no set reopening date; phone ahead for updates.
Guided tours are available. Time: Allow 45 minutes minimum.