Old Fort Meade Museum is e. on SR 34 at Building 55 Sheridan St.
The museum preserves the history of the early frontier post established in 1878. The post was constructed by elements of the 1st Infantry commanded by Maj. Henry Lazelle and the remnant of the troops of the 7th Cavalry brought to Fort Meade by Maj. Marcus Reno. The fort’s primary purpose was to insure that gold seekers did not violate the 1868 Fort Laramie Treaty, which ceded the Black Hills and surrounding lands to the Great Sioux Nation. This mission led to Fort Meade being called “The Peace Keeper Post.”
The community of Sturgis, which grew up near the fort, was named in honor of Lt. Jack Sturgis, son of the post’s first commander Gen. Samuel D. Sturgis. Jack died at The Little Big Horn with Custer’s command. The old post cemetery, located on Horse Soldier Road, is unique in that it is the only remaining post cemetery that has not been relocated. Buried there are men, women and children who lived on the post.
Time: Allow 1 hour, 30 minutes minimum.