AAA Editor Notes
The Museum of the Confederacy is 2 blks. n. of Broad St. at 1201 E. Clay St. Founded in 1890, the museum interprets the Civil War through one of the largest collections of Confederate artifacts, paintings and documents.
Some 20,000 artifacts include military equipment and clothing that belonged to Confederate leaders, among them Jefferson Davis, Robert E. Lee, J.E.B. Stuart and Thomas J. “Stonewall” Jackson; artifacts documenting the lives of free and enslaved African-Americans; art illustrating the Confederate experience; and flags relating to the Confederate armed forces and government. On display is the 1869 painting “The Last Meeting of Lee and Jackson,” a 15-foot painting depicting the moment Jackson went off to Chancellorsville, where he was mortally wounded.
Free parking is available at the Virginia Commonwealth University Medical Center visitor/patient parking deck on 12th Street (museum will validate parking slip).