Museum of the Shenandoah Valley is at 901 Amherst St. (SR 50W). Anchoring a 214-acre cultural site, the 50,000-square-foot regional history museum contains four galleries that document the history of the Shenandoah Valley. Changing exhibits are displayed, as is a collection of miniature houses.
The property’s 7 acres of manicured grounds include formal Chinese, water, rose, parterre, herb and vegetable gardens showcasing shady passages made from flowering crab apple trees, fountains and statues. The complex also features the Glen Burnie House, built in 1794 by Robert Wood, son of Winchester founder Col. James Wood.
Food is available. Time: Allow 2 hours minimum.