About AshfordLocated just outside the Nisqually entrance to Mount Rainier National Park, Ashford was settled in the 1880s. Initially a sawmill settlement, it became the main gateway to the park when the Tacoma Eastern Railway reached town in 1904. In the early days most park visitors came by rail; passenger train service continued until 1926, the same year the road leading to the park was paved. Cozy bed-and-breakfast properties are popular with national park visitors. The Ex-Nihilo: Recycled Spirits of Iron Sculpture Park is 3 miles west at 22410 SR 706.
Visitor Centers Mt. Rainier Visitor Association 30027 E. SR 706 Ashford, WA 98304. Phone:(360)569-0910 or (877)617-9951
Skiing (Cross-country) Mount Tahoma Trails
AAA’s in-person hotel evaluations are unscheduled to ensure the inspector has an experience similar to that of members. To pass inspection, all hotels must meet the same rigorous standards for cleanliness, comfort and hospitality. These hotels receive a AAA Diamond designation that tells members what type of experience to expect.