About AuburnOriginally named Slaughter after Lt. William A. Slaughter, who was killed in a Native American skirmish, the town of Auburn acquired its present name in 1893, a salute to the same-named town in New York. In 1912 the Northern Pacific Railroad made Auburn its western freight terminus, prompting many large locomotive shops to open. Major employers today include Boeing and the federal government's General Services Administration.
Emerald Downs, half a mile east of SR 167 on 15th St. N.W. to 2300 Emerald Downs Dr., offers Thoroughbred racing mid-April to late September; free stable tours are given Saturday mornings by appointment. Phone (253) 288-7000 for racetrack information, or (253) 288-7711 for tours.
Note: Policies concerning admittance of children to pari-mutuel betting facilities vary. Phone for information.
Visitor Centers Auburn Area Chamber of Commerce 25 2nd St. N.W. Auburn, WA 98001. Phone:(253)833-0700
ShoppingOutlet Collection Seattle, junction SRs 18 and 167, offers more than 100 outlet stores, including Ann Taylor, Burlington Coat Factory, Marshalls, Nordstrom Rack and Old Navy.
Things to Do Flaming Geyser State Park
GAMBLING ESTABLISHMENTS Muckleshoot Casino
AAA’s in-person hotel evaluations are unscheduled to ensure the inspector has an experience similar to that of members. To pass inspection, all hotels must meet the same rigorous standards for cleanliness, comfort and hospitality. These hotels receive a AAA Diamond designation that tells members what type of experience to expect.