About BowieFounded in 1870 and incorporated in 1916, Bowie has progressed from a small railroad stop to Maryland's fifth largest city. Originally called Huntington City, it was renamed for former governor and local resident Oden Bowie, president of the Baltimore and Potomac Railroad.
The Prince George's County Genealogical Library, 12219 Tulip Grove Dr., is a research center that houses nearly 6,000 volumes, periodicals and surname files. The library is open Wednesdays and by appointment on the last Saturday of the month; phone (301) 262-2063.
For outdoor recreation, 85-acre Allen Pond Park off SR 197 allows for a variety of activities, including boating, fishing, hiking and picnicking. The Bowie Ice Arena, an amphitheater, skate park, three soccer fields, two softball fields and a playground also are on-site; phone (301) 809-3011.
Things to Do Belair Mansion
AAA’s in-person hotel evaluations are unscheduled to ensure the inspector has an experience similar to that of members. To pass inspection, all hotels must meet the same rigorous standards for cleanliness, comfort and hospitality. These hotels receive a AAA Diamond designation that tells members what type of experience to expect.