About DuncanFounded in 1887 as Alderlea, Duncan was renamed in 1912 in honor of farmer William Duncan, who gave his land for the original townsite. Settlers were attracted by the promise of copper and coal on nearby Mount Sicker, where abandoned mines and original homesteads still can be seen. The growth of the logging and farming industries brought increasing numbers to Duncan and the Cowichan Valley.
The area around Duncan is known for the hand-spun woolen sweaters produced by the Cowichan people. West on Hwy. 18 is the Cowichan Valley Demonstration Forest with scenic viewpoints and signs describing forest management practices and ecology. More than 80 totem poles dot the town of Duncan.
Visitor Centers Duncan-Cowichan Chamber of Commerce 381 Trans-Canada Hwy. Duncan, BC V9L 3R5. Phone:(250)746-4636 or (888)303-3337
ShoppingWhippletree Junction, a group of shops and boutiques with late 1800s storefronts, is 5 kilometres (3 mi.) south on the Trans-Canada Highway. A Sunday market with local artisans and food producers is open April through October.
Things to Do BC Forest Discovery Centre
AAA’s in-person hotel evaluations are unscheduled to ensure the inspector has an experience similar to that of members. To pass inspection, all hotels must meet the same rigorous standards for cleanliness, comfort and hospitality. These hotels receive a AAA Diamond designation that tells members what type of experience to expect.