DescriptionSt. Barths' harbor town and capital, Gustavia was called Carénage by the French for the shelter it provided to damaged ships. The present name dates back to 1784, which marked the beginning of the island's Swedish era. The Anglican Episcopal Church on the harborfront was completed in 1855.
Three forts built in the mid- to late 17th century protected the harbor. The sites of Fort Karl, overlooking Shell Beach south of town, and Fort Gustave, at the base of the Gustavia Lighthouse to the north, reward hikers with idyllic panoramas. Fort Oscar, at the tip of Gustavia Peninsula, houses the National Police.
Visitor Information Office du Tourisme Quai du General de Gaulle BP 591 Gustavia, ST. BARTHELEMY 97133. Phone:(590)27-87-27
AAA’s in-person hotel evaluations are unscheduled to ensure the inspector has an experience similar to that of members. To pass inspection, all hotels must meet the same rigorous standards for cleanliness, comfort and hospitality. These hotels receive a AAA Diamond designation that tells members what type of experience to expect.