About MaysvilleMaysville, first known as Limestone, is on the south bank of the Ohio River; the city was renamed and incorporated in 1792. The influence of the river trade during the 1800s is evident in Maysville's architecture—the iron grillwork of the row houses along Third Street is reminiscent of New Orleans. In front of the old county courthouse is Old Tip, a cannon used in the Battle of Tippecanoe during the War of 1812.
The history of Maysville is depicted through a series of murals painted on the city's floodwall. Beginning near Limestone Landing with an illustration of a 17th-century Native American hunting party, the murals progress to show visits by the Marquis de Lafayette and Henry Clay, the Underground Railroad, mid-19th- and early 20th-century street scenes and the grandstand at an annual fair. A 2007 addition pays homage to actress and singer Rosemary Clooney, born in Maysville in 1928.
Visitor Centers Maysville-Mason County Convention & Visitors Bureau 216 Bridge St. Maysville, KY 41056. Phone:(606)564-9419 or (888)875-6297
Self-guiding ToursBrochures outlining a walking tour are available from the visitors bureau.
Things to Do Kentucky Gateway Museum Center
In-person hotel evaluations are unscheduled to ensure the inspector has an experience similar to that of members. All hotels must meet the same basic requirements for cleanliness, comfort and hospitality to be AAA Approved. A rating of one to five AAA Diamonds tells members what type of experience to expect, from no-frills to highly personalized.