About Niagara-on-the-LakeNiagara-on-the-Lake is a well-preserved town that was the first capital of Upper Canada 1791-96. Because of its proximity to the Niagara River and Lake Ontario, the town developed into a busy port and shipbuilding center. After the Welland Canal was completed in 1829, bypassing Niagara-on-the-Lake and damaging its port trade, the settlement declined. New industry soon arrived, however, as railroads made the area accessible to tourists.
The 19th-century aura of this quaint village is enhanced by the renowned Shaw Festival, which offers an entire summer of superlative theater.
Visitor Centers Niagara-on-the-Lake Chamber of Commerce 26 Queen St. Lower Level Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON L0S 1J0. Phone:(905)468-1950
Self-guiding ToursInformation about walking tours of the area is available from the chamber of commerce.
Things to Do Fort George National Historic Site
WINERIES Château des Charmes
Niagara On The Lake, ON
AAA’s in-person hotel evaluations are unscheduled to ensure the inspector has an experience similar to that of members. To pass inspection, all hotels must meet the same rigorous standards for cleanliness, comfort and hospitality. These hotels receive a AAA Diamond designation that tells members what type of experience to expect.