About ParrsboroOn the north shore of Minas Basin, Parrsboro has a history rich in First Nations and pirate legends. Glooscap, a Mi'kmaq man-god, mighty warrior and magician, reputedly once roamed the area. Deno, an Italian pirate, is said to have entombed the daughter of a British naval captain in a cave at Black Point.
In 1776 a settlement took root on Partridge Island around a ferry terminus. Ferry service between Partridge Island and the Annapolis Valley proved to be a valuable transportation link and continued until World War II. The fertile land around the harbor at the mouth of the Parrsboro River prompted the island's population to eventually shift to the mainland community of Mill Village, renamed Parrsboro in 1784 after John Parr, Nova Scotia's governor general.
Twice daily the Bay of Fundy tides rise and fall between 12 and 15 metres (39 and 49 ft.) in the harbor. Good areas for viewing this phenomenon are Glooscap Park, Partridge Island and Parrsboro Wharf at First Beach. Among the area's other attractions are amethysts, agates, other semiprecious stones and rare fossils. A scenic drive winds along the shore of Minas Basin between Parrsboro and Advocate.
On the waterfront an old ferry that once traversed the bay to Kingsport is now the home of Parrsboro's resident theater company. The Ship's Company Theatre, 18 Lower Main St., offers productions in summer; phone (902) 254-3000 or (800) 565-7469 for ticket information.
Visitor Centers Town of Parrsboro 4030 Eastern Ave. Parrsboro, NS B0M 1S0. Phone:(902)254-2036
Things to Do Fundy Geological Museum
AAA’s in-person hotel evaluations are unscheduled to ensure the inspector has an experience similar to that of members. To pass inspection, all hotels must meet the same rigorous standards for cleanliness, comfort and hospitality. These hotels receive a AAA Diamond designation that tells members what type of experience to expect.