About SeguinHome of the world's largest pecan, Seguin (pronounced “sa-geen”) was founded as Walnut Springs in 1838. The name was changed to honor Col. Juan N. Seguin, a distinguished Tejano patriot who served under Sam Houston in the fight for Texas independence. A statue of Col. Seguin stands in Central Park at South River and Nolte streets.
The giant pecan—a sculpture on the courthouse lawn—marks Seguin as a major cultivator of the nut. Guided tours of the area include sites from Janice Woods Windle's historical novel “True Women.” The town's first church, built for a Methodist conference in 1849, is among the oldest surviving protestant churches in the state. Seguin also is the home of Texas Lutheran University.
Visitor Centers Seguin Convention and Visitors Bureau 116 N. Camp St. Seguin, TX 78156. Phone:(830)401-0810 or (800)580-7322
Self-guiding ToursBrochures for a walking tour of historic downtown Seguin and a driving tour of sites from “True Women” are available from the convention and visitors bureau.
Things to Do Seguin Wave Pool
AAA’s in-person hotel evaluations are unscheduled to ensure the inspector has an experience similar to that of members. To pass inspection, all hotels must meet the same rigorous standards for cleanliness, comfort and hospitality. These hotels receive a AAA Diamond designation that tells members what type of experience to expect.