About St. FrancisvilleOne of the oldest towns in Louisiana, St. Francisville was established near the site of a monastery built in 1785 on land granted to Capuchine friars by the King of Spain. The monastery was soon destroyed by fire, but the name remained.
When the United States purchased Louisiana in 1803, West Florida, a section along the Gulf Coast, was retained by Spain. The inhabitants, descendants of the original Anglo-Saxon settlers, did not want Spanish rule. They waited 7 years for the United States to decide if this region was indeed part of the Louisiana Purchase.
Finally a group of planters attacked the fort at Baton Rouge, captured the Spanish governor and set up their own republic. In 1810 St. Francisville became the capital of the Free and Independent Republic of West Florida, a small but spunky nation. After 74 days the U.S. Army marched into St. Francisville and finally claimed West Florida as part of the original Louisiana Purchase.
In March the Audubon Pilgrimage remembers John James Audubon, who painted dozens of his bird illustrations from this area. The 3-day event is a living-history interpretation of rural homestead life and includes house, plantation, garden, church and evening cemetery tours.
Visitor Centers West Feliciana Parish Tourist Commission 11757 Ferdinand St. St. Francisville, LA 70775. Phone:(225)635-4224 or (800)789-4221
Self-guiding ToursA driving/walking-tour map of St. Francisville is available from the tourist commission information center.
Things to Do Afton Villa Gardens
St Francisville, LA
AAA’s in-person hotel evaluations are unscheduled to ensure the inspector has an experience similar to that of members. To pass inspection, all hotels must meet the same rigorous standards for cleanliness, comfort and hospitality. These hotels receive a AAA Diamond designation that tells members what type of experience to expect.