Fort Sill National Historic Landmark and Museum is at 435 Quanah Rd.; visitors must stop at the Visitor Control Center, 6701 Sheridan Rd., jct. Sheridan Rd. and US 62 to present identification and obtain a pass. The interpretive center is in Building 435. The fort, which consists of more than 38 buildings from the original 19th-century military outpost, retains its frontier atmosphere. It was established in 1869 by Gen. Philip Sheridan to control the Southern Plains tribes and, at the same time, protect their lands from encroachment.
Since the fort has been in continuous use since the Indian Wars period, it is virtually unchanged. The site remains an active Army post, with many of the original family living quarters still being used for that purpose.
The museum interprets early cavalry and infantry history (including Col. George Custer's 7th Cavalry and the famous 10th Cavalry Buffalo Soldiers); the Apache, Comanche and Kiowa tribes; the settlement of early Oklahoma; and the history of the area's early military and law enforcement divisions.
Among the graves in seven Native American cemeteries are those of Geronimo and Quanah Parker, the last chief of the Comanche. Visitors can see barracks restored to resemble those used by cavalry soldiers in 1875 and the stone Quartermaster Corral, which has been returned to its original appearance. The Post Guardhouse has exhibits focusing on the early law enforcement mission of the Army and the Indian police. The Warrior's Journey gallery addresses the Native American collections in the museum.
Living-history presentations, which take place on a regular basis, include such activities as the firing of Civil War-era muzzle-loading cannons, 19th-century baseball and programs about the Army's Buffalo Soldiers.