DescriptionFirst settled in the 1830s, Elmhurst was incorporated as a village in 1882 and reincorporated as a city in 1910. The town was founded on a treeless prairie and originally named Cottage Hill but was later renamed after residents beautified the town by planting numerous elm trees. The community’s location on a railway line and on a highway leading into Chicago has long made it a convenient place to live.
The town’s population growth followed the pattern of many Chicago suburbs, booming in the 1920s, slowing down during the Depression and expanding rapidly again in the 1950s and '60s. The Elmhurst Historical Museum, 120 E. Park Ave., chronicles the people and customs that give the town its rich history; phone (630) 833-1457.
Things to SeeElmhurst Art Museum