Home / Diamond Rating Definitions

Diamond Rating Definitions

Follow AAA Inspectors
Hotels and restaurants that pass inspection are designated as AAA Inspected & Approved. This indicates they offer clean, comfortable, hospitable places for members to stay and dine - whether they're motels, diners or resorts. There's only one level of AAA Inspected & Approved.
The five AAA Diamond levels describe the kind of experience members can expect. They identify which AAA Inspected & Approved hotels and restaurants will provide the best fit for your occasion and budget.
Hotel Ratings
Ultimate Luxury
Choosing a Hotel
Think of each additional Diamond as an indicator of more extensive services and amenities - on a scale from no-frills to highly personalized.
One Diamond means a bed, a pillow and a bargain. Two Diamonds mean a familiar, casual, affordable setting. Three Diamonds deliver the comforts of home, minus the effort. Four Diamonds provide a notable splurge for a special occasion. And Five Diamonds are the crown jewel.
Restaurant Ratings
Choosing a Restaurant
Think of each additional Diamond as an another reason to sit back and enjoy the experience - from quick and tasty to utterly amazing.
One Diamond means grab it and go. Two Diamonds mean a relaxing break with expected favorites. Three Diamonds offer a fresh and trendy dining-out event. Four Diamonds are a culinary experience to savor and enjoy. And Five Diamonds offer an entire evening of wow moments.
Featured Article
Diamond Awards
Each year, AAA announces all hotels and restaurants across the U.S., Canada, Mexico and the Caribbean that received the Four or Five Diamond Rating during the previous year. See highlights of selected new honorees and the complete lists for 2019.
Read More
Courtesy of Esperanza An Auberge Resort