About SimsburySimsbury, originally called Massacoe, was settled in 1640 by British emigrants from Symondsbury in Dorsetshire, England. The village was incorporated as the town of Simsbury in 1670. On a more contemporary note, The International Skating Center of Connecticut, 1375 Hopmeadow St., enables visitors to watch figure skating champions and Olympic hopefuls train and perform in shows; phone (860) 651-5400.
Talcott Mountain, a 1,000-foot-tall promontory, is the focal point of Talcott Mountain State Park, 3 miles south of town via SR 10 and SR 185. The views of the Farmington River valley from this wooded ridge are splendid; on clear days Mount Monadnock—80 miles away in New Hampshire—can be seen, the Berkshires are a dominant presence to the northwest and Long Island Sound appears as a thin blue streak to the south. Heublein Tower, built in 1914 as a summer home, sits atop the mountain; the 1.25-mile Tower Trail leads to this well-known landmark. For park information phone (860) 242-1158.
Things to Do Phelps Tavern Museum & Homestead
AAA’s in-person hotel evaluations are unscheduled to ensure the inspector has an experience similar to that of members. To pass inspection, all hotels must meet the same rigorous standards for cleanliness, comfort and hospitality. These hotels receive a AAA Diamond designation that tells members what type of experience to expect.