About Rivière-du-loupAccording to local legend, Rivière-du-Loup owes its name to the sea lions, or loups marins, that once frequented the mouth of the river. Other tales suggest that it was named after the French ship Le Loup, which was stranded at the mouth of the river around 1660.
The area is noted for its eight beautiful waterfalls; the largest, at 30 metres (100 ft.), and most picturesque, is reached via rues de la Chute and Frontenac and highlights the center of the city. The Park of the Illuminated Cross (Parc de la Croix Lumineuse) affords an excellent view of the region and contains a large illuminated cross.
From June to mid-October large numbers of whales migrate through nearby waters. Up to seven different species, ranging from the relatively small beluga to the enormous blue whale, can be sighted.
Visitor Centers Rivière-du-Loup Tourism & Information Bureau 189 boul. de l'Hotel-de-Ville Rivière-du-loup, QC G5R 5C4. Phone:(418)862-1981 or (888)825-1981
Things to Do Lower St. Lawrence Island Cruises
Riviere Du Loup, QC
AAA’s in-person hotel evaluations are unscheduled to ensure the inspector has an experience similar to that of members. To pass inspection, all hotels must meet the same rigorous standards for cleanliness, comfort and hospitality. These hotels receive a AAA Diamond designation that tells members what type of experience to expect.