About DahlonegaIn 1828, nearly 3 centuries after Hernando de Soto sought gold in northeastern Georgia, the area around Dahlonega (dah-LON-a-gah) boomed with the discovery of the ore. A federal mint built in 1838 coined more than $6 million before it was closed at the outbreak of the Civil War. Gold coins minted in Dahlonega are highly prized by collectors.
Gold mining continued in Dahlonega until the early 20th century when the fixing of the metal's worth at $35 an ounce made mining unprofitable. Tourism and vineyards have replaced commercial gold mining. In 1958 and again in the mid-1970s, gold donated by residents was driven to Atlanta in a mule train and used to re-cover the dome of the Capitol with gold leaf.
The price of gold is no longer fixed, and visitors can pan for the metal, take underground mine tours and see exhibits of mining equipment at Consolidated Gold Mines . Gold panning and mining equipment also are available at Crisson Gold Mine. An 1875 Chestatee River diving bell is on display in Hancock Park.
Every year, visitors may have another opportunity to pan for gold at the 4th of July Celebration. Other offerings include music, dancing and fireworks.
Visitor Centers Dahlonega-Lumpkin County Chamber & Visitors Bureau 13 S. Park St. Dahlonega, GA 30533. Phone:(706)864-3711 or (800)231-5543
Things to Do Consolidated Gold Mines
Canoeing Appalachian Outfitters
WINERIES Montaluce Winery & Restaurant
In-person hotel evaluations are unscheduled to ensure the inspector has an experience similar to that of members. All hotels must meet the same basic requirements for cleanliness, comfort and hospitality to be AAA Approved. A rating of one to five AAA Diamonds tells members what type of experience to expect, from no-frills to highly personalized.