About JamestownHistoric Jamestown, on Conanicut Island, is accessible by bridges from Newport on the east and from the mainland on the west. Burned by the British in 1775, Jamestown still boasts several old houses.
The original Beavertail Lighthouse at the southern tip of the island was established in 1749; the site is one of the oldest lighthouse locations in the country. A 1938 hurricane uncovered the lighthouse's original base, exposing a fine example of Colonial stonework. The present lighthouse, closed to visitors, was built in 1856. A pictorial display at the assistant lightkeeper's house chronicles the history of lighthouses.
In addition to historic houses and the lighthouse, the island town is represented by attractions of military and agricultural interest. Three U.S. forts guard the entrance to Narragansett Bay.
Jamestown Museum, housed in a 19th-century schoolhouse at 92 Narragansett Ave., displays temporary exhibits and memorabilia from ferries; phone (401) 423-0784.
Things to Do Watson Farm
AAA’s in-person hotel evaluations are unscheduled to ensure the inspector has an experience similar to that of members. To pass inspection, all hotels must meet the same rigorous standards for cleanliness, comfort and hospitality. These hotels receive a AAA Diamond designation that tells members what type of experience to expect.