About LockportLockport derived its name from the Erie Canal locks that overcome the difference in elevation along the Niagara Escarpment. The historic five flights of locks, built in 1825, can be seen from Pine Street Bridge or from the boats that offer narrated cruises along the canal and through working locks.
The town also boasts one of the widest bridges in the world, located downtown within walking distance from the locks, and an upside-down railroad bridge, built with its supporting structures facing downward to hinder competing canal shipping. Part of the original canal towpath is used today for hiking and walking.
Self-guiding ToursBrochures for a walking tour of the canal district are available at the Erie Canal Discovery Center.
Things to Do Erie Canal Discovery Center
AAA’s in-person hotel evaluations are unscheduled to ensure the inspector has an experience similar to that of members. To pass inspection, all hotels must meet the same rigorous standards for cleanliness, comfort and hospitality. These hotels receive a AAA Diamond designation that tells members what type of experience to expect.